Library Resources (REL 230)

The volumes in the new series Religions of the World surveys religions that have had a major impact on the history of the world and that continue to play a role in relationships between nations and ethnic groups. All aspects--including roots and founding, primary beliefs and cultural activities, the way the faiths are viewed by the rest of the world, and the experience of growing up as a member of the religion--are be examined. As the world's largest faith, Christianity has long had a tremendous amount of influence on international history and politics. Despite being split into three branches--Roman Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant--as well as almost innumerable denominations, Christianity has played a major role in directing the course of world affairs, mainly because it is often the dominant faith in wealthy nations.

For 2,000 years the Western world has been shaped by Christianity. This volume covers its humble start in a remote outpost of the Roman Empire, its growth as an important medieval power, its internal upheavals, its important writings, and its future as the world's leading religion.

An objective look at the origin and history of Christianity.

For two millennia Christianity has embraced fairly consistent views of human sexuality. Today, there exist more varied outlooks on the subject. This volume on Christianity in the The Library of Essays on Sexuality and Religion series overviews the contrasting Christian perceptions of sexuality. Part 1 includes a number of previously published articles that are theological in nature and present biblical interpretations of sexuality. Here, several Christian voices are permitted to speak from their varied perspectives, both conservative and liberal. Part 2 features contributions focusing on the Christian tradition of celibacy and asceticism. Part 3 surveys scholarly work emphasising the relationship between sexuality, gender and patriarchy. Part 4 offers academic interpretations of Christian expressions of sexuality through the mediums of worship, ritual and the sacraments. The final part peruses contemporary contestations of conventional Christian views. This is undertaken by presenting articles examining views of gay sexuality, assisted human reproduction and priestly celibacy.

In the on-going discussions concerning Islam, the question of its numerous prohibitions and of its inability to adapt to modern society surfaces constantly. It is commonly considered to be a question of good taste to make a distinction between an Islam that is open, peaceful, and compatible with contemporary society and an Islam that is fundamentalist and decisively intolerant in all matters of faith. But is such a distinction valid? Does it not derive above all from an attitude that seeks to be politically correct and which makes any serious discussion impossible, to the great detriment of necessary evolutions, rendering them, indeed, unattainable? In direct, clear language, Anne-Marie Delcambre shows that many of the prohibitions and constraints as well as the problems and difficulties of the Muslim religion in the world today are not simply fundamentalist aberrations but, on the contrary, derive directly from the very essence of Islam itself. Many of the elements of these proscriptions, interdictions, and commands are, in fact, to be found in the Quran and in authentic Muslim tradition. This is, indeed, the case in such matters as the discriminatory status assigned to Jews and Christians, the call to Holy War (Jihad) and even to murder, the position of women, the uncritical and anti-historical approach to the fundamental texts of Islam, the place of the Prophet, etc. This honest examination of these questions is indispensable in order to acquire an accurate, objective understanding of Islam today.

Empower your readers with a strong understanding of important concepts and issues related to Islam. The essays in this book present more than one viewpoint on each issues discussed, which provides a balanced introduction and opens the doorway of critical thinking. Across four chapters, readers will analyze whether the values of Islam and the West are in conflict, whether Islam promotes violence, how women are treated under Islam, and what is the future of Islam in this complicated world. Essay sources include Mustafa Akyol, Maulana Wahiduddin Khan, Justine A Rosenthal, Ruqaiyyah Waris Maqsood, M. A. Muqtedar Khan, and John L Esposito.

The volumes in the new series Religions of the World surveys religions that have had a major impact on the history of the world and that continue to play a role in relationships between nations and ethnic groups. All aspects--including roots and founding, primary beliefs and cultural activities, the way the faiths are viewed by the rest of the world, and the experience of growing up as a member of the religion--are be examined. Based in the same scriptures as both Judaism and Christianity, Islam has many similarities with the major Western religions. Even so, in the post-9/11 world, Islam remains one of the world's most misunderstood faiths. In the current climate of terrorism and fear, it is more important than ever for non-Muslims to learn to understand the religion founded by the prophet Muhammad.

This volume is devoted to Islam, a religion with more than one billion believers worldwide. Coverage includes an introduction to fundamental concepts in the history and belief system of Islam, a discussion of Islamic politics, and a sensitive presentation of issues associating Islam and violence.

Islam: An American Religion demonstrates how Islam as formed in the United States has become an American religion in a double sense--first through the strategies of recognition adopted by Muslims and second through the performance of Islam as a faith. Nadia Marzouki investigates how Islam has become so contentious in American politics. Focusing on the period from 2008 to 2013, she revisits the uproar over the construction of mosques, legal disputes around the prohibition of Islamic law, and the overseas promotion of religious freedom. She argues that public controversies over Islam in the United States primarily reflect the American public's profound divisions and ambivalence toward freedom of speech and the legitimacy of liberal secular democracy.

Defining Hinduism is concerned not only with what Hinduism is, but also with what it has been, and with the history of the term "Hinduism". Defining Hinduism brings together essays by some of the most influential and interesting scholars working on the religions of South Asia today. The volume also offers a comprehensive general introduction to the subject as well as individual introductions to each of the three parts of the book. This reader will be a valuable tool for the study of the world's third largest religion.

This innovative introductory textbook explores the central practices and beliefs of Hinduism through contemporary, everyday practice. Introduces and contextualizes the rituals, festivals and everyday lived experiences of Hinduism in text and images Includes data from the author's own extensive ethnographic fieldwork in central India (Chhattisgarh), the Deccan Plateau (Hyderabad), and South India (Tirupati) Features coverage of Hindu diasporas, including a study of the Hindu community in Atlanta, Georgia Each chapter includes case study examples of specific topics related to the practice of Hinduism framed by introductory and contextual material

For several millennia, Hinduism has dominated India and cultures throughout Southeast Asia. This volume includes selections from central Hindu texts such as the Bhagavad-Gita and the Laws of Manu, as well as topics ranging from Hinduism's origins to the challenges faced by modern Hindus in India and America.

Hinduism is a concise and readable survey of the history of Hinduism, from its origins in the Indus Valley to its increasing popularity in today's Western world. Focusing particularly on the modern period, it provides a valuable introduction to contemporary Hindu beliefs and practices and looks at the ways in which this religion is meeting the challenges of the modern world.

Although the polytheistic religion of India has had a limited influence outside its native nation, it has nonetheless always been a subject of interest to both scholars and laypeople alike. With its controversial caste system and its pantheon of unusual deities, Hinduism is very different from most of the faiths common in the West.

Includes a range of voices - such as women and Hindus in the diaspora - which are often excluded or given short shrift in other textbooks, so that readers are provided with a more comprehensive overview of the tradition. Explores both the commonalities and differences between the various aspects of Hindu traditions to introduce students to their complexity and diversity. Explores the rise of Hindu nationalism and other developments of the 21st Century to ensure that this is the most up-to-date introduction to Hinduism available.

This third edition of the classic text updates the information contained in the earlier editions, and includes new chapters on the origins of Hinduism; its history of relations with Buddhism, Christianity, and Islam; Hindu science; and Hindu measures of time. The chronology and the bibliography have been updated as well. A comprehensive survey of the Hindu tradition, the book deals with the history of Hinduism, the sacred writings of the Hindus, the Hindu worldview, and the specifics of the major branches of Hinduism--Vaisnavism, Saivism, and Saktism. It also focuses on the geographical ties of Hinduism with the land of India, the social order created by Hinduism, and the various systems of Hindu thought. Klaus K. Klostermaier describes the development of Hinduism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, including present-day political Hinduism and the efforts to turn Hinduism into a modern world religion. A unique feature of the book is its treatment of Hinduism in a topical fashion, rather than by chronological description of the development of Hinduism or by summary of the literature. The complexities of Hindu life and thought are thus made real to the reader, and Hindus will recognize it as their own tradition.

Understanding Hinduism today requires an understanding of how it is practised in the contemporary world. Stephen Jacob's new introduction tackles these central issues, beginning with case studies of the grassroots practice of Hinduism in India and in diaspora communities. He covers issues of singular importance in the modern study of Hinduism, including the importance and role of mass media to this essentially orally transmitted religion. Other major areas covered include the concept of Hindu dharma, particularly in relation to caste, gender and Hindu nationalism, key and often controversial concepts in Hinduism.

Understanding Hinduism covers the history of Hinduism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about spiritual leaders, how Hindus perceive the world, and how Hindus live in the modern world. This title also discusses the complex interactions between Hinduism and Indian politics. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.

The Oxford History of Hinduism: Modern Hinduism focuses on developments resulting from movements within the tradition as well as contact between India and the outside world through both colonialism and globalization. Divided into three parts, part one considers the historical background to modern conceptualizations of Hinduism. Moving away from the reforms of the 19th and early 20th century, part two includes five chapters each presenting key developments and changes in religious practice in modern Hinduism. Part three moves to issues of politics, ethics, and law. This section maps and explains the powerful legal and political contexts created by the modern state - first the colonial government and then the Indian Republic - which have shaped Hinduism in new ways. The last two chapters look at Hinduism outside India focusing on Hinduism in Nepal and the modern Hindu diaspora.

The history of Brahmanas, tracing their lineage to the fifty-odd Rigvedic poets, is dealt with. This is followed by a sequential treatment of Hinduism as a 'Rigvedic religion', the two Mimamsas, Buddhism, Jainism, Dharmasastras, the Epics and the Puranas. The growth of Hindu temples, the role of Adi Sankaracharya and the Bhakti movement is delved into, and the influences of Muslim and British rule of the subcontinent on Hinduism is analyzed. Much of tribal and village deities and practices were co-opted into concurrent Hinduism, and exist in all their colorful glory to this date and make Hinduism vibrant. Finally, the present status of Hinduism is discussed along with its survival in the future.

Buddhists believe in no single deity but ascribe to a guide for living that offers the possibility of transcendent enlightenment. This volume outlines the tenets of Buddhism and traces the spread of the religion from its birth in India to Southeast Asia, China, Japan, and ultimately the West.

Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.

A concise survey of the history of Buddhism, from its roots in India to its spread across South and East Asia and its present day manifestation in Europe and America. This work focuses particularly on the modern period and provides an introduction to the different paths of Buddhism - the beliefs and practices - and looks at the ways in which this religion is meeting the challenges of the modern world.

Examines the faith founded by Siddhartha Gautama, which is now being embraced by people around the world.

From Buddhism in Afghanistan to Zen Buddhism, this book offers an in-depth overview of this fascinating religion.In approximately 700 A-to-Z entries, ""Encyclopedia of Buddhism"" provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today. Although the primary focus of the encyclopedia is clearly on Buddhism in all its forms, this easy-to-use resource also provides introductions to Daoism, Shinto, Confucianism, and other religious practices in East and Southeast Asia.The entries include: Anatman; Asoka; Bodhi tree; Buddhism in the United States; Pema Chodron; Christian-Buddhist relations; Dalai Lama; Daoism in China-Taiwan; Eightfold Path; Falun Gong; Feng shui; Hermann Hesse; Japan Buddhist Federation; Karma; Mandala; Nirvana; Questions of King Milinda; Schools of Chinese Buddhism; Stupa; Tea ceremony; Traditional Buddhist ethics; War and violence; and, Zen Buddhism.

A comprehensive overview of modern Buddhism across cultures, showing how this ancient religion has adapted to recent social and political change. Collecting the work of leading authorities on Buddhism in different societies around the world, this book details the state of the religion in Asian countries where it is a major cultural influence and in North America. The religion has changed to meet the challenges of modernity; its practitioners have incorporated those innovations and this work examines those changes in-depth. A comprehensive overview of historical Buddhist practice grounds the reader for the entire nine chapters, each of which is organized by geographical area and follows the path Buddhism took as it spread across Asia and into North America. Each chapter presents field research and critical reflection on what constitutes modern Buddhism in one of nine countries or regions. Histories of Buddhism are common; this is the only source for in-depth information on modern Buddhism.

A concise, informative, and fascinating short book that explains the how and why of Buddhism. Buddhism is one of the world's oldest and most widespread religions, with a history spanning some 2,500 years. It has nearly 400 million adherents and there are Buddhists today in almost every country in the world. In What Do Buddhists Believe?, Tony Morris gives readers a sense of the most important and interesting facets of Buddhism and some of the reasons why, in an age that seems increasingly disenchanted with traditional ethical and religious teachings and organized religion, Buddhism appears to be thriving. The teachings of Buddhism are vast and various. At its core, though, is a simple set of propositions and practices. Its emphasis has always been, and remains, how to live a wise, happy, compassionate, and fulfilled life. Complete with a useful time line, further suggested reading, and a list of contacts, What Do Buddhists Believe? is the ideal book for anyone wishing to acquaint themselves with this ancient and fascinating religion.

This work seeks to answer questions about the great religious traditions in the contemporary age. It focuses upon those religions that continue to demand the attention of the Western world. Following an introduction on the philosophy of religion, attention is focused on Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam which are religions that have had (and probably continue to have) the greatest number of followers in Western society. In addition to the lasting impact that religion has had in society, we are witnesses to the development of secularism on the one hand and the revival of religious sentiment on the other, thus chapters on modernity, postmodernism, and 'fundamentalism' have also been included. The distinctive feature of the book is its modern feel. Each chapter brings the reader up-to-date with recent developments and commentaries upon recent religious thought, theology and religious-political movements. Moreover, the length of the chapters permits a detailed analysis which is so often lacking in books on world religions.

Understanding the Religions of the World offers a new approach to the study of religion which moves away from the purely descriptive and instead helps students understand how religions actually 'work'. Covering all the main faith traditions, it combines historical context, contemporary beliefs and practices, and original theory, with numerous study features and valuable overviews. A major new student-focused textbook concentrating on contemporary practices and beliefs of world religions Brings together a team of experts to provide a uniquely comprehensive coverage of religious traditions, including African religions and the religions of Oceania, which are rarely covered in detail Integrates original theory by arguing that each religion operates according to its own logic and order, and that they fulfill our need for a point of orientation Incorporates extensive student features including chapter introductions, 'did you know?' sections, boxed examples/material, numerous images and maps, conclusions, study questions and teaching plans, available on publication at www.wiley.com/go/deming