Library Resources (ENG 225)
ENG 225 - Reading Literature: Culture & Ideas
|
Mythology Section Check out the BL700s for mythology near the back of the library.
|
Documentaries:
- In Search of History: The Aztec Empire
- In Search of History: Mexico's Great Pyramids
- Native Land: Nomads of the Dawn
Website:
Books:
Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology by Call Number: F1219.3.R38 R42 2000ISBN: 0874369983Publication Date: 2000-12-15Critically acclaimed introduction of broad scope to the myths of Mesoamerica from ancient times to the present.
South and Meso-American Mythology A to Z, 2nd EditionISBN: 9781604134148Publication Date: 2010-05-30Covering great Inca, Maya, and Aztec empires as well as lesser-known cultures, such as the Olmec people, this revised edition of South and Meso-American Mythology A to Z is a comprehensive reference to the deities, legendary heroes and heroines, objects, animals, and places that make up the mythic lore of the peoples of Meso-America and South America. Learn how these peoples explained Earth's creation and which themes were common throughout the region. This new edition is now in full color for the first time. Coverage includes: Creation accounts from Meso-American and South American cultures Influences on and development of South and Meso-American mythology Core beliefs of different cultural groups Recurrent themes in myths throughout the region.
The Mythology of Mexico and Central America by Call Number: F1219.3.R38 B54 2002ISBN: 0195146212Publication Date: 2002-08-22In a framework different from the other two Bierhorst mythology volumes, the Mexico and Central American volume provides complete translations of 20 'basic myths' of this region and shows how they have influenced the artistic, literary, and political life of modern Mesoamerica. Bierhorst introduces readers to myths from the Aztec and Maya of pre-Columbian times to the Indian groups that survive today. In a new afterword, Bierhorst discusses how in the late 1980s and 1990s, native mythology has been recast to shed light on themes placed in the foreground of public consciousness - democracy, cultural pluralism, religious freedom and environmentalism. Mythology energizes native politics from the high-profile political activisim of the Zapotec Indians against the World Trade Organization to the Nobel Prize winning Quiche Maya activist Rigoberta Menchu. Efforts to demystify the region's mythology include the criticism and investigation of the legend of Juan Diego and the ever-popular Virgin of Guadeloupe. The book includes a glossary, pronunciation guide, notes, bibliography, index, maps. and photos.
| African American |
eBooks:
| Post Colonial |
eBooks:
- Myths and Legends of Our Own Land (United States)
| Native American |
Websites:
Books:
- Myths and Legends of Alaska
- A Treasury of Eskimo Tales
- Stories the Iroquois Tell Their Children
- Birch Bark Legends of Niagara (Owahyah)
- Occoneechee, the Maid of the Mystic Lake
- Myths and Legends of the Sioux
- Myths and Legends of California and the Old Southwest
- Blackfoot Lodge Tales: The Story of a Prairie People
- Algonquin Legends of New England
- Algonquin Indian Tales
- Folk-Lore and Legends: North American Indian
- Indian Fairy Book: From the Original Legends
Handbook of Native American Mythology by Call Number: E98.R3 B26 2004ISBN: 1851095330Publication Date: 2004-11-22This revealing work introduces readers to the mythologies of Native Americans from the United States to the Arctic Circle--a rich, complex, and diverse body of lore, which remains less widely known than mythologies of other peoples and places.
Tales of the Earth by ISBN: 9781789144994Publication Date: 2021-11-23After outlining theories of the origins of Native North Americans, David Leeming considers the creation myths of many tribes, emphasizing four commonly occurring figures: the Great Spirit, the trickster, the goddess, and the hero. Leeming suggests that in addition to these figures, Native American mythologies have in common a deep reverence for the earth and for community responsibility as opposed to individualism--tenets that stand in stark contrast to the concepts of exceptionalism and Manifest Destiny that characterize the United States, a nation that was built on ancient tribal land.
The Mythology of North America by Call Number: E98.R3 B54 2001ISBN: 0195146239Publication Date: 2002-08-22In this wide-ranging volume, John Bierhorst carefully delineates eleven mythological regions--from the Arctic to the Southwest and from California to the East Coast--presenting the gods, heroes, and primary myths of each area.
The Myths of the North American Indians by Call Number: E98.R3 S7 1989ISBN: 0486259676Publication Date: 1989-05-01The myths and legends of the Algonquins, Iroquois, Pawnees, Sioux, and northern and northwestern Indians offer rich insights into the character and beliefs of the tribes that once dominated extensive territories of North America. The myths range in theme from steadfast love to rivalry between warriors to victory over powerful forces, and in their unfolding lie powerful images of the innermost fears and aspirations that motivated the behavior of Algonquin, Iroquois, Pawnees, Sioux, and northwestern Indians alike.
Website:
Books:
Handbook of Inca Mythology by Call Number: F3429 .S77 2004ISBN: 1576073548Publication Date: 2004-12-08The first introduction to the Incas and their myths aimed at students and general readers, bringing together a wealth of information into one convenient resource. Full of hard to find information, Handbook of Inca Mythology provides an accessible introduction to the rites, beliefs, and spiritual tales of the Incas. It provides a concise overview of Incan civilization and mythology, a chronology of mythic and historical events, and an A-Z inventory of central themes (sacrifice, fertility, competition, reversaldualism, colors, constellations, giants, and miniatures), personages (Viracocha, Manco Capac, Pachackuti Inca), locations (Lake Titicaca, Corickancha), rituals, and icons. The last Native American culture to develop free of European influence, the Incas, who had no written language, are known only from Spanish accounts written after the conquest and archaeological finds. From these fragments, a vanished world has been reborn and reintroduced into modern Andean life. There is no better way into that world and its mind-bending mythology than this unique handbook.- South and Meso-American Mythology A to Z, 2nd EditionISBN: 9781604134148Publication Date: 2010-05-30Covering great Inca, Maya, and Aztec empires as well as lesser-known cultures, such as the Olmec people, this revised edition of South and Meso-American Mythology A to Z is a comprehensive reference to the deities, legendary heroes and heroines, objects, animals, and places that make up the mythic lore of the peoples of Meso-America and South America. Learn how these peoples explained Earth's creation and which themes were common throughout the region. This new edition is now in full color for the first time. Coverage includes: Creation accounts from Meso-American and South American cultures Influences on and development of South and Meso-American mythology Core beliefs of different cultural groups Recurrent themes in myths throughout the region.
