Social Studies Research
- Academic Video Online Premium (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. Browse Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody®-winning films, video from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY®, and more.
- Docuseek Film Collection This link opens in a new window
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue, and environmental films, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
- Cambridge Journals 2023 This link opens in a new window
The 2023 full journal collection offers articles in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities (Cambridge University Press).
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues 1923-present, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (CQPress)
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s extensive collection of more than 265,000 eBook titles is now integrated on EBSCOhost. Answers to Frequently Asked Questions provided by EBSCOHost.
- Factiva (On-campus access only.) This link opens in a new windowWith a business focus, Factiva is a product of Dow Jones that offers full text access to over 10,000 magazine, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and news wires. It provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. In addition, about 3,000 images are added daily. Richmond Times Dispatch is covered from 1989. (Dow Jones & Company, Inc.)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowDatabase of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research (Gale)
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text coverage includes the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. (EBSCOhost)
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. (EBSCOhost)
- MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This general reference collection covers a broad range of subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
- Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Offers online access to 134 periodical titles in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years. Articles are available in PDF and/or HTML formats. (Oxford University Press)
- Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks This link opens in a new window
New in Summer 2015! Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 300 recently-published e-books in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. The total collection will grow to over 1,000 e-books as new titles are addeded throughout the rest of the year. (Oxford University Press)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides extensive coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Political Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. (Ebsco)
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowStarted as a not-for-profit project by Johns Hopkins University Press, it provides online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Full text of most journals are covered from the past 10-15 years. (Johns Hopkins University Press)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Gain deep insights into any area of interest - down to a city block, with stunning visualizations and built-in data. Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more (Social Explorer).
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe Taylor & Francis eBooks collection offer ebooks across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Education, Health, Medicine, Computer Science, and Information Technology.
- African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window
This collection offers +1,000 fully searchable books, pamphlets, and speeches from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I that provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement. Topics include African American identity, relationships with peoples of other nations, and literature.
- African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new window
This collection offers roughly 1,400 fully searchable printed works, books, pamphlets, and speeches from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. It includes documents related to African Americans and citizenship, voting rights, literacy, land rights, employment, and more, including the gaps between written law and practice.
- African Books Collective (ABC) This link opens in a new windowThe African Books Collective (ABC) is a non-profit organization that distributes and markets books from Africa around the world:
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Complete bibliographic database to over 2,000 journals that cover the United States and Canada prehistory to the present. In addition to articles, this extensive database includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews, and citations of abstracts of dissertations published in the field. (EBSCOHost)
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Access includes LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, and Sex and Sexuality - Sixteenth to Twentieth Century. (Gale)
- Encyclopedia Virginia This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia Virginia (EV) is a free, publicly accessible online publication of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities in partnership with the Library of Virginia. EV has published more than 200 peer-reviewed, fact-checked entries related to the Civil War in America. Topics include: The Civil War in Virginia, Robert E. Lee, Battle of the Crater, Elizabeth Van Lew, The Lost Cause, Confederate Battle Flag, Slavery During the Civil War, Ladies’ Memorial Associations, and Medicine During the Civil War.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Indexes European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. (EBSCOHost)
- FedStats This link opens in a new window
FedStats has been available to the public since 1997 and provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by over 100 federal government agencies and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
- Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865 This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the content and pages of Harper's Weekly. The Civil War Era section covers issues published from 1857-1877. The database provides indexing that matches 19th century words, phrases and images with today's terminology as well as digital images of every page of the magazine. Searches can be done by occupation or role in society, or by searching any combination of four indexes: subject, illustrations, literature, and publishing. (HarpWeek, LLC.)
- Humanities Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
An index of nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and over 1,000,000 articles, including citations of over 155,000 books reviews
- Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
A collection of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more that increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and The Times (London). Also contains selective full text for more than 335 U.S newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc. (EBSCOhost)
- Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1983 This link opens in a new windowAn index of articles and book reviews in social sciences and interdisciplinary fields. It indexes major scholarly journals and important specialized magazines published between 1907 and 1983.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Some full-text included. (EBSCOhost)
