ENG 111 Persuasive Essay
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a database that covers today's major social issues from cybercrime to gay parents to the Iraq war to national security to medical care to texting while driving and everything inbetween. It helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
There are many different types of information in Opposing Viewpoints. These include:
- More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays
- 5,000+ topic overviews
- More than 300 primary source documents
- 300 biographies of social activists and reformers
- More than 775 court-case overviews
- 5 million periodical articles
- Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs
- Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search
- Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs
- A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
|
To get to any of our databases, you must first go the the ESCC Library homepage. From there, you will need to click on the "Online Databases" link.
|
You'll be redirected to the A-Z Database LibGuide.
| Scroll down to / or click "O" and select Opposing Viewpoints in Context . |
If you are on campus, you should immediately be taken to the basic search screen of the database.
If you are off campus, you will be taken to a log-in screen where you will be prompted to enter your MyESCC username and password.
If you have any problems accessing the databases, ask a library staff member for help.
The main page of Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a basic search box in the upper left corner.
There's also an "Issues of Interest" section and a "Browse Issues" section located on the main page.
1. Once you have selected the Opposing Viewpoints record, then use the upper right menu and click "Cite".
2. Select either APA or MLA then copy and paste the citation.
You can share a particular resource (i.e. article, video, etc.) by clicking "Send To" in the menu at the top of the page. You can also save the resource to your GoogleDrive, OneDrive, or by emailing it to yourself.
When you click "Send To," you'll be prompted to enter your email.
