Audiobooks

Set in Civil-War era New England, the four March girls experience sister adventures, romance, and sorrow.

In a dystopian future where books are banned and burned, a fireman begins to question the oppressive society he serves.

Douglas Spaulding's summer of '28 included new sneakers, mowed lawns, Grandma's dinners, bees and firecrackers.

This epic tale shows a Chinese farmer's rise from poverty to wealth, depicting themes of ambition, tradition, and the relationship between people and the land.

This anthology of classic poetry features readings by renowned poets, offering a diverse exploration of poetic voices and styles.

Commissario Guido Brunetti investigates the two year old case of a young Venetian nobleman's death, uncovering dark family secrets while dealing with frustrating police bureaucracy.

A drifter and a woman plot to murder her husband, leading to a tangled web of desire, betrayal, and violence.

Capote investigates the 1959 murder of a family of four in a small Kansas town --a true murder with seemingly no motive or clues.

Enduring stories that are as relevant today as they were when written at the turn of the century by influential women writers.

Edna Pontellier struggles with secret affairs and societal expectations of her as a wife and mother.

A young soldier confronts the harsh realities of battle and his own fear during the American Civil War.

The grim realities of urban poverty, family cruelty, and the tragic fate of Maggie, a young woman in New York's tenements, shed light on social injustices and the cycle of despair.

During the Roaring Twenties and the Jazz Age, Gatsby revels in the American Dream but finds that it has a darker side.

A journalist returns to her hometown to investigate a series of brutal murders, unearthing dark family secrets and confronting her own troubled past.

These poems, prose and theater performances showcase leading African-American writers.

A World War II bomber pilot faces the absurdity of military bureaucracy and the paradoxical rules that make survival seem impossible, capturing the madness and futility of war.

An American ambulance driver in World War I falls in love with a British nurse, exploring themes of love, loss, and the futility of war.

Janie Crawford recounts her first two unhappy marriages and then her third happy marriage which ends when she shoots her husband out of self-defense and is tried for murder.

Dr. Sloper thinks his daughter's fiancé only wants to marry Catherine for her inheritance.

The cross-country journeys of Sal Paradise and his friend Dean embody the restless spirit and unconventional experiences of the Beat Generation.

McMurphy encourages his fellow patients at the mental hospital to defy Nurse Ratched.

Harrison Shepherd navigates revolution, World War II, Mexican art, and Aztecan history in both the United States and Mexico.

Gene reminisces about his boyhood at a prep school during World War II, and how his jealousy of his best friend led to an accident, guilt and eventual reconciliation.

Tell Sackett heads after Apache braves to rescue his kidnapped nephew, but he is suspicious that his sister-in-law in setting a trap for him.

The collection includes "Riding for the Brand", "The Black Rock Coffin Makers", "Dutchman's Flat", "The Nester and the Piute", "Mistakes Can Kill You", "Trail to Pie Town", and "Big Medicine".

Young Scout Finch learns about racial injustice and the power of empathy as her father, Atticus Finch, defends a black man wrongly accused of a crime in 1930s Alabama.

Stories include "Blood Money", "Saint with a Six-Gun", "Trail of the Apache", "Trouble at Rindo's Station", "The Boy who Smiled", "The Tonto Woman", "Hurrah for Capt. Early", "Only Good Ones", "The Colonel's Lady", "You Never See Apaches", and "Three-ten to Yuma".

Anne Lindbergh meditates on the complexities of modern life and the importance of solitude and simplicity, inspired by the author's time spent by the sea.

Buck, a domesticated dog, is thrust into the harsh wilderness of the Yukon, where he must survive a cruel alpha dog and selfish owners.

An itinerant worker, an idealistic doctor, a widowed café owner, and a tomboy find it easy to share their secrets with John Singer, a deaf engraver.

The Tyrone family confronts deep-seated issues of addiction, fear of tuberculosis, regret, and resentment, reflecting the complexities and dysfunction of familial relationships.

This collection contains a variety of Dorothy Parker's writing, displaying her witty, blunt passion.

This collection of letters, verse, stories, essays, and journalism reveals Dorothy Parker's personality.

A scientist travels to the Amazon to investigate the mysterious death of her colleague, encountering deep beauty as well as complex ethical dilemmas created by a miraculous drug.

Esther Greenwood's struggle with mental illness and societal expectations in 1950s America reveals the suffocating pressures and isolation she endures.

The classic tales of Robin Hood and his band of Merry Men, who challenge injustice and champion the poor in medieval England.

The harrowing conditions of the meatpacking industry in early 20th-century Chicago expose the exploitation of immigrant workers and the need for social reform.

At the turn of the century, Francie struggles with her family's poverty, her father's alcoholism and a deceptive boyfriend.

Two former high school sweethearts reunite years later, facing unresolved feelings and the enduring impact of choices made in their youth.

Jon Stewart uses humor and satire to describe American politics.

Stories include "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County", "The One-Million Pound Bank Note", "A Visit to Niagara", "A Mysterious Visit", "The Blue Hotel", "The Bride comes to Yellow Sky", "An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge", "The Eyes of the Panther", "To Build a Fire" and "Love of Life" .

Billy Pilgrim, a World War II soldier dealing with PTSD, shares experiences from the war and his life, focusing in on the bombing of Dresden.

A meeting between an unknown science fiction writer and a wealthy businessman leads to the writer's success and the businessman's mental instability.

In New York society in the 1870's, Newland Archer regrets his engagement to innocent, sheltered May after her scandalous, exciting cousin Ellen visits.

The Glass Menagerie is a play about a mother and son trying to set up the daughter with a young man. This CD collection also includes poems and the short story, "The Yellow Bird".

The poetry of William Carlos Williams reflects the beauty and simplicity of everyday life, often focusing on ordinary objects and experiences. J.D. McClatchy provides commentary.